I Was The One Set Free

It Is The Rarest Thing In the World

Erica
a Few Words
1 min readMay 28, 2022

--

empty bird cages in trees
Photo by Julia Kamm on Unsplash

I‘ve been the one holding on.

There are signs when you’re the one holding on. Like rope burn you bleed at first. Then it stings. You ask yourself what it would have taken to keep holding on, but it’s gone anyways it doesn’t matter.

What I said to myself then: wipe your hands off. When you move on you’ll be better for it.

I had to learn how to let go.

I’ve been the one holding on until my hands bled. I’ve been the one who let go too soon. And, now, I was the one set free.

I was the one set free.

I was the one set free. It was a beautiful feeling. If the world was on your shoulders, and then someone lifted that weight off of you, you would want to fly too.

What I say now: look around. You don’t want to miss it when someone sets you free.

--

--