Internal Forest

Jack Franklin Kelly
a Few Words
Published in
2 min readJan 11, 2020
Found on Tumblr

Inside me exists a forest, built from roots of personal strength. Amongst this picture you’ll find the trees growing from the base of my spine. Glistening rays gleam between leaves, produced by eternal sunshine.

Yet somehow my internal forest as grown defensive, so much so, bones begin to crack. Deep down there is a wound so old, it’s origins unknown, floating about the subconscious. Now I’ve only got the brush to thank for protecting it…

Still at times in this life I’ve set fire to my forest. Destroying it from the outside in, hoping for recreation.

Our world is overflowing with incompetent visions. I’ve been destroyed through the internal war of others, simply doing my best to be a vessel for them.

I need someone to understand. I need someone to comfort me.

~ From my Heart ~

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--