INVISIBLE AT HOME

Gabriela Vela
a Few Words
Published in
2 min readNov 14, 2021
Photo by Nadja Zehe on Unsplash

That's how I felt after I went to my therapist today.

I thought every thing was fine. nice house, nice family, good friends, a dog.

now my mind is a time machine looking backwards

been broken hearted my hole life

by the hand of mom and dad

wondering why I could never connect or love someone

24 goes by in a blink of an eye

turns out I'm not incapable of love

just trying to heal old wounds

surviving,

The thing is,

there are not pictures of me in my own house

few pictures in a forgotten vault

memories that thoughtlessly I erase of my mind

Crumpled up piece of paper with no memories, unreadable ink and anxiety about how to become someone visible

my definition of being a good child

a bird who doesn't fly so it doesn't fall or hurt herself or someone around her

then no one has to worry,

You brag about me outside the house

Achievements I got with empty words of support

in our four walls

I celebrate alone

hiding behind my so called friends,

miles away or inside my room

no in between

Telling me to fly away and follow my dreams,

is that your way of telling me to fly away from you?

there´s no point in pointing fingers

does time heals deep wounds?

at the end of the they

it´s not their fault either

in their own mind they are doing the best they can

but now that I know this

am I?

Like Taylor Swift once said

Time won´t fly is like I´m paralyzed by it

I´d like to be my old self again but I´m still trying to find it

cause now I remember

All too well

--

--