Invisible Goals

S. Stefan Karabacak
a Few Words
Published in
2 min readJul 30, 2019

--

Recently, I bought an 80 ounce (2,5 litre) water bottle.

I fill it up every morning, and it sits at my desk all day.

Why?

Well, I’m just trying to increase my water intake.

I don’t drink enough water. So, my goal is to finish that bottle by the end of the day.

To my surprise, I’ve been hitting this goal effortlessly.

And let me tell you I’ve never been a person who drank lots of water before.

I couldn’t believe how a simple change like this can make such dramatic differences.

How easy this was shocked me, and it made me think.

I thought about the difference between this goal and the other goals in life.

Then it hit me.

Hitting this particular goal was so easy because my goal is right in front of me every single second of the day.

I can see where I’m at when it’s 10 am, 2 pm, 4–5–6 pm.

If I didn’t drink enough water that day, there are no excuses.

My goal is visible. It’s right there.

After this realization, I started applying this technique to my life goals too.

--

--