“Just keep in mind: the more we value things outside our control, the less control we have”

TheTrix
a Few Words
Published in
2 min readApr 5, 2020
Photo by Ricardo Gomez Angel on Unsplash

This sentence by Epictetus is what I’m repeating like a mantra in this weeks spent in home confinement due to Coronavirus.

It’s difficult to process what’s happening, so everyone reacts in his/her own way to deal with it.

First, I started to read a lot, to search for answers but then I realized the only thing to do is live day after day, consulting not obsessively the news and act the best I can to stay closer to beloved ones and perform actions where I can make a difference.

Stay at home right now is one of these, so be it.

In the meantime, we can improve ourselves, preparing for what will come when this will be over. Think about it as an opportunity, don’t waste it drifting in a sea of uncertainty or despair.

New possibilities will come, but only for those who will be ready to adapt and get them.

I lost my job this month, years ago I would have been desperate and paralyzed by the fear of not be able to support my family but, instead, I started from that fear, learned from it, saved a bit and, doing this, I gained more time to restart.

These are the consequences of our actions, so that’s why is important to set a course.

Now, despite this situation, we can learn something new, practicing skills, doing workouts, spending valuable time with our families, helping each other to overcome all of this and become, at the same time, a better than before person.

This is in our control.

Stay safe

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--

TheTrix
a Few Words

Father | Tech guy for work and fun | Runner | Aspiring to minimalism | In a quest of learning how to live a meaningful life, day by day