Learning to Love Yourself, as Told by Someone Who Chronically Compares Herself

Ashley Broadwater
a Few Words
Published in
3 min readJun 28, 2020

--

A woman stands with her eyes closed and her hand on her chest. #selflove #compassion #mindfulness #reflection
Photo by Darius Bashar on Unsplash

While I appreciate people’s good intentions, one of the worst statements someone can say after hearing my insecurities is Teddy Roosevelt’s assertion “Comparison is the thief of joy.”

Don’t I know it!

I deeply want to stop comparing myself, but it comes second nature. I often feel insecure, whether about my body, eating, successes or ability to charm others.

However, many times I compare myself I’m able to catch myself and try to fix it. I don’t want to judge myself or others, and I know we weren’t created to be in competition.

Below are statements and questions I ask when I compare myself and feel insecure. They focus more on objectivity, logic and what makes me feel good, which can help in comparison-filled moments.

What do I love about my body? What does it help me do?

This could include your hair, arms or the art on your nails. This could include your long eyelashes. This include physical feelings, like someone scratching your back or a hot shower. This could include actions, like dancing or laughing, though bodies are worthy regardless of ability.

What can I do when I’m not spending my time worrying…

--

--

Ashley Broadwater
a Few Words

Freelance writer on multiple platforms. On Medium: writing tips + relationships. UNC-CH Journalism + Media. Newsletter + more: www.linktr.ee/ashleybroadwater