Life-Changing Lesson I Learned From Losing My Mom

Rosie Nguyen
a Few Words
Published in
3 min readJan 19, 2021

Back in 2018, on an ordinary Monday, my mom suddenly passed away within a day. That is the day that I was the deepest grief in my life that I have never prepared for that.

After her funeral, I thought about all the things that I have done for my mom. Instead of feeling unlucky, I felt so grateful that I have my mom in life that was my privilege. It reminded me about the book by Bronnie Ware top five regrets of the dying. She said it best:

“The same view you look at every day, the same life, can become something brand new by focusing on its gifts rather than the negative aspects. Perspective is your own choice, and the best way to shift that perspective is through gratitude, by acknowledging and appreciating the positives.”

After reading, I already decided that I will live a life without any regrets. That idea led me to do all the things that made my mom happy. I celebrated the first and also the last birthday party for my mom with my family. I brought her flowers for the special events, always hugged and kissed her whenever I came home and said I love her more frequently. I feel glad that I did these things for my mom. Although she couldn’t live with me for longer, I am grateful enough for all the things I did for my mom.

I am so grateful that I have the mom in my life. I was living with her for over 20 years that enough for me to learn from her. I think about kids that they even don’t have any chance to see their parents or are too small and their parents have passed away. At least for me, I still can hear, see, hug my mom, which might the wish of many others.

After my mom’s loss, the lesson of living without any regrets is more precise than ever. I live with my wholehearted and always try my best every day. Whenever I did anything, I always keep in mind that I need to do my best because this is the only chance I can have, and there is no certainty that what happens tomorrow.

This lesson also makes me feel grateful and become the happiest person I can be every day. I know this is the way that showing the love to my mom. Be happy and love myself as much as she loves me.

Living in gratitude, living with wholehearted every single day is a simple way that everyone can apply to live the happiest life ever. I have a strong belief that my mom is still alive in my heart, in my bones, in my blood that I never lose her. She is always here to take care of me as always.

For you — my friends and readers, it is never too late to say “I love you” to your mom, giving her your love, giving her your attention and your caring. Our mom always deserves it.

--

--

Rosie Nguyen
a Few Words

Yoga and meditation lover, a positive person, a student of life.