Morning rituals that can help in making your day better

Diksha Dhiman
a Few Words
Published in
3 min readAug 31, 2020
Photo by THE 5TH on Unsplash

As long as you live, keep learning how to live. -Seneca

Why morning rituals, not routines?

Morning routines majorly depend upon how the mind and body of individual works. It can’t be the same for everyone, whereas morning ritual is something that has a sense of purpose. You just need to set meaningful intentions for the day; perhaps the intentions you set will help you to include these rituals in your morning schedule.

Here I will share the three most significant morning rituals from my experience, that can help you to design a morning that enables you to unlock your maximum potential :

Ritual 1): Wake up your brain and body

During sleep, your body’s metabolic function slowed, hence the first thing to do is to give your metabolism a jolt by drinking water shortly after waking. During your first drink of the day, think about what do you want to achieve today? Point out your top priorities. You can also read some good books in the time interval and then take a shower.

What is my intention of practicing this ritual?

I am practicing this ritual for the last three years. My intention is always as simple as to start my day with some positive vibe; having a glass of lukewarm water to cleanse my colon and a good book to clear my perspective helps me to achieve that.

Ritual 2): Mindful Meditation

A new research study shows that a little yoga or meditation a day might just keep the doctor away.

Stress-related health problems are responsible for up to 80% of visits to the doctor and account for the third-highest health care expenditures, behind only heart disease and cancer. Focusing on your breath for only 10 minutes a day can be very helpful. Research has shown that it not only helps with stress or anxiety but also helps in our overall health. After my bath, I do 10 minutes of meditation.

What is my intention to practice this ritual?

I only manage to concentrate on my breath for 5 minutes, but those five minutes give me different vibrations. The vibrations creates energy that confirms my existence.Not only mental happiness but I have also observed the increase in my focus and concentration after adopting this ritual to my mornings.

Ritual 3) Stretch/Yoga

Lying the entire night can cause tighten your muscles; hence it’s essential to stretch in the morning to release any tension that may have caused while you were sleeping. We all with proper execution need to stretch on a regular basis in order to protect our mobility and independence. Yoga can improve quality of life. After meditation, I stretch for 20 min

What is my intention of practicing this ritual?

My back posture was a disaster; I started to do cow pose, cobra pose, back bending to correct my posture. I started to see the improvement not only in my posture but in my overall health. Practicing stretching and yoga first thing in the morning allows my blood to flow and helps me to work efficiently the entire day.

Try to incooperate these rituals in the morning and track your day, and just remember one thing; you have always a choice, “who do you want to become?, each and every day.”

--

--