My 2023 Writing Goal: A Haiku A Day

Sheon Little
a Few Words
Published in
3 min readFeb 18, 2023
https://pixabay.com/images/id-1276779/

I’m the worst type of writer… one who doesn’t actually write.

My New Year’s resolution was to write a haiku a day. Pretty easy, right. Three lines. Seventeen syllables.

Surprisingly, it was harder than I was originally thinking.

Despite sometimes struggling for an idea, I’m proud to write that I did it! The topics were quite random but that doesn’t matter. I set a goal and I met it.

So, without further ado, here are the first thirty-one haikus.

Twenty twenty-three
I wish you love, peace, and joy
May we all be blessed

Back to work Tuesday
Break is never long enough
Fun while it lasted

Gray clouds rolling in
I wish it was snow coming
But it’s just more rain

Tornado warning
Dark clouds, heavy rain, and winds
Nature at its worst

I am so sleepy
But I have to write each day
I will reach my goal

The loves of my life
Are my wife and my daughter
Couldn’t ask for more

Winter is too long
I don’t like being so cold
Pass me a blanket

The Sunday night blues
Always planning for the worst
Hoping for the best

Why did you do that
You knew you’d get in trouble
Now you’re suspended

Sleep has escaped me
Tossing and turning all night
Where is the Sandman

No lucky numbers
Need to win the lottery
So that I can quit

Coffee is my friend
A warm, cozy liquid hug
That soothes my insides

Some snow would be nice
Watching the fluffy flakes fall
Covering the ground

Feels like snow weather
But there are no flakes in sight
Cold for no not what matters

Some have lost their minds
Focused on the silly things
And not what matters

I have books to read
Find me under my blanket
In a comfy chair

It’s raining again
Drops splashing into puddles
Making small ripples

The classroom has changed
Safety bags and lockdown drills
It’s all so scary

Writing can be hard
Trying to find the right words
To express my thoughts

A crow eating chips
Not a normal sight to see
And it made me laugh

Asleep in my lap
Forever safe in my arms
Smiling while she sleeps

Woke up this morning
When many did not get to
Blessed to be alive

It’s windy outside
The type of cold wind that cuts
And chills to the bone

The sun is setting
Red and orange color the sky
A majestic sight

Raining once again
Such a soothing sound to hear
Puts me right to sleep

Reds, oranges, purples
Colors so rich and vibrant
Morning masterpiece

A teacher workday
When the children are not there
School is really nice

What to write about
Some days the words come easy
Some days not so much

A new week is here
Time to reset and restart
A new beginning

Your parking is bad
Blocking the Starbucks sidewalk
You need more coffee

Thirty-one Haikus
January goal is met
I am on a roll

--

--