My Dear Friend, Sorrow

Brandon Maye
a Few Words
Published in
2 min readApr 15, 2020

Sorrow asks what I am doing, lying in the pool of my tears. As if she doesn’t know the extent of my fears. I live each day as though I am at the end of my years, just this evening I find everything to be too much. I sit with her, and she holds me sweetly. She has been my peace for a long time, always consoling me in times of trouble. She sits with me in the darkness, in the light she takes my hand. A truer friend I’ve never met, even though my eyes with tears are wet.

“My dear friend,” I softly ask, “why must I live in this pain? Why must I walk through this life and absorb the exuberant burden of everyone’s grief?”

She answered, “You are built for a time such as this. You are strong enough to walk with your head held high in spite of the hurt that you take. You are here to grow, and the deepest wounds bring the most growth. You bring peace to those around, absorbing their pain, and walking with me. I will always be with you, always keep you company. You are my friend, I will teach you all you need to learn. Kindness, compassion, empathy, love. The things that make life worth living.”

She reached up, and removed the mask… What I saw was a face of shining beauty, completely breathtaking.

“It is now time you finally get to know the real me… My name is Joy, and I want you to be fulfilled, my dearest friend.”

Be mindful, those things that cause us the most sorrow could be those things that bring us the most joy. The seasons change ever so frequently and our response will be what our life becomes.

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--

Brandon Maye
a Few Words

A poet whose heart longs to remove pain and instill kindness in a broken world.