On National Best Friends Day

Is friendship a long lasting commodity? Or is it a conditional need?

Amr Ebied
a Few Words
2 min readJun 11, 2020

--

Photo by Jennifer Burk on Unsplash

I didn’t even know that today was a special friendship day in the United States. I was surfing Reddit when I noticed the great amount of posts made by redditors on the value of friendship, friendship between gamers, friendship between animals, etc. I watched all that with a nearly indifferent mood. What is wrong with me? Do I not get how important friendship is?

And then, and after a long period of thinking, I guess I have found the reason why I relatively cared less than before. The truth is, I have long passed the childhood and teenage years of my life. Most of my present days I spend roaming between work and home. Having a loving wife and two very demanding children just keeps my cup full for every single day. That being said, I just feel emotionally satisfied to the degree that going to work is just another daily routine that I have to go ahead and get on with it.

I guess friendship serves us more when we need it the most. In the beginnings of our lives we normally are not that “worried” about life. Back then, we were just trying and failing, getting up and falling, and somehow we were secure by the fact that we had support from grown-ups. I guess that emotional environment was the perfect atmosphere for us to seek friendship. Nowadays, though, and when normally we became the grown-ups, and we have attained the “iron throne” of responsibility, that emotional bubble became saturated by commitments, and so, reluctantly speaking, friendship may not be our God anymore!

I would love to know your thoughts about this.

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--