Optical Illusions Reveal Tremendous Inner-Workings of Your Mind

Science shows why we process life events the way we do

Nicole Akers
a Few Words
Published in
3 min readMar 22, 2022

--

Photo by Dids from Pexels

Nothing is ever black or white. Not really, if we’re being honest. Was that a light bulb moment for you or have you had this inkling for a while?

I like optical illusions. I’d stare at the 3-D dot pictures of the Magic Eye and let my vision go wide to reveal a design in the dots. You can practice seeing the world differently.

My curiosity is piqued when I find this optical illusion in The U.S. Sun. Psychologist Rebecca Spelman created the computer-generated image to see how people who see different objects in the picture process their world.

Image from U.S. Sun, used for discussion

What do you see first?

I’ll give you a minute. I don’t want to spoil your perception.

Still waiting —

Pause here if you haven’t decided.

Time’s up. Here’s the big reveal.

I see a bird, perhaps getting seed or nectar from a flower.

If you see a cat, specifically a lynx, that’s also a possibility.

--

--

Nicole Akers
a Few Words

Teacher | Happy Mom of 2 brings amazing tips on parenting, learning, & lifestyle | 🐶 Mom | Bestselling Author | Founder of Publishous. Keep that smile.