Phoenix and Me

Sheila Syahira
a Few Words
Published in
2 min readJun 14, 2020

--

picture from Canva

Be a phoenix, they said.

No, I said.

First, I’m not a myth nor a legend. Second, I’m a human being, alive and love darkness. Yes, I’m too in love with darkness.

No, don’t get me wrong, again!

Don’t try to bring out light nor give me some. Let’s keep your generous side, keep it for your own self.

Then I think I want to tell you why do I love to befriend and sit with darkness?

I love how it teaches me to learn, how it brings out the fears that I have not know before, and beautifully teaches me to see them without I ever need to open my eyes.

Yes, It teaches me to rest my eyes and embrace my sight!

And that’s how I found the Light.

Now, you perhaps understand that once a while,

No, no, no, every day, I meant.

I need darkness more, so I can acknowledge myself how powerful the Light is.

To finally realize that me, a scratch of darkness, is nothing. And how I love to be nothing.

So please, I just want to adore and let the Light to captive me.

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--

Sheila Syahira
a Few Words

A learner, a writer, and an Indonesian author. My writings are in English and Indonesian language