Poetry for Comfort.

Because The Process is Uncomfortable.

Imane
a Few Words
2 min readJan 16, 2022

--

PhotAo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

The heart is fickle, and so is desire

We could have it all inside our heads

We open our eyes and we do a double-take

Why is it hard to climb high

And how high do we need to climb

For it to be enough

For it to be okay for us to smile

*

My mom said ‘there is no ease for the living’

I said nothing, there was nothing to be said

If life taught her so, what could I say

I could only listen and want a different way

A way where there is ease, a way where there is peace

And if giving birth is taxing, then living should be less

Or at least a process…

Yet, the process is so hard

And hard is everyone on cold nights

Yet we’re not the only ones, and we forget

That seeking each other is only right

*

Because we want a different way

Where discomfort is not all there is

Where dreams are not dreams

And where what we want wants us back

Where comfort isn’t another word for missing out

And where fun means waking up to see the sun

Where love is king

Where love is no utopian dream

Where honesty is the law

Where honesty doesn’t come at a price

But if life didn’t prove her so, what could I say

I could only strive to live my way

*

Until then, I hold her close

While looking up at the sun, the same one

Whose heat is fatal

But whose light we need

And I give her hope that ease is no fantasy

And for that, I stay true

That pain is not all there is.

--

--