Reality went missing!

An innocent dream reflecting the plight of school-going kids during this pandemic.

Ankita Saharan
a Few Words
2 min readMay 31, 2020

--

A few months back, I had a dream

My mouth was full of chocolate cream

Got my room done in “Captain America” theme.

Saw myself delivering the pre-game speech

As a captain of my school soccer team.

Ah! Such a dream.

And then, that deadly scream!

Straight from the kitchen.

“Wake up! You dream-bee”

My mom was yelling at me for getting late for school again.

The next moment, I was pooping and brushing my teeth.

Wondering where to look for that chocolate cream

In the pot or in my mouth!

It was such a beautiful dream.

But, nowadays my dream has become my new reality.

And my reality has become a dream.

Of course, minus the chocolate cream and the fancy Captain America Theme.

I miss going to school.

I miss my friends and teachers. I miss the lunchtime.

I wish everything gets back to normal soon.

Now I know, some dreams are better left as dreams.

© ankitasaharan

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--