Rising Above My Childhood Scars

Your childhood is in the past, and that’s the only place where it belongs.

Maisarah Atan
a Few Words

--

There are moments when you were a child that shape your values, views, and behavior. I don’t know if it is possible to have a perfect childhood, but there is one thing I know for sure:

Your childhood scar should not hold you back.

Photo by Hugues de BUYER-MIMEURE on Unsplash

I grew up being picked on and teased constantly for having a darker skin tone. It really affected how I see life as a whole.

It made me think and believe that only the prettiest girls will have it all. Pretty by my society’s standards — fair skin, slender, tall, etc. And I wasn’t pretty.

I don’t think it’s something that was only in my head, as I have been told straight to my face that I wasn’t pretty. A boy went ahead and literally called me ugly once.

The result of these comments is not pretty too. My self-esteem was so low that I often made self-deprecating comments as a joke. I thought that if I can joke about myself…

--

--

Maisarah Atan
a Few Words

Mother, Writer, Storyteller | Sharing anecdotes on the highs and lows of relationships, parenting, and everyday life.