People often gave me the taste of low self-esteem. And, when you get the same kind of food every day! It’s not very hard to get used to it. Hence, here I am. Still munching the chips of diffidence at almost every step of my life.

Self — love

Ankita Saharan
a Few Words
Published in
2 min readApr 20, 2020

--

Since childhood, I’ve loved a lot of things

Candies, cola and frisbee rings.

Oh! Disney was at the top.

Loved it as much as I loved going to the tuck-shop.

I got so lost in things and people around me,

That I forgot to spare some love for the most important thing.

MYSELF.

I abandoned myself of my own love.

It’s hard to figure out the reason for doing so.

Maybe, I had not crossed paths with my worth yet!

Or maybe I didn’t know about the theory of self-love at all.

But now I am old enough to understand that self-love has nothing to do with watching my favourite shows or eating my favourite delicacies.

It’s about mending and re-inventing myself.

Both, mentally and physically.

Now that I have woven myself a blanket of conviction

Low self-esteem doesn’t dare to give me chills anymore.

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--