Photo by Chema Photo on Unsplash

Seven Fragrances

Dawn Downey
a Few Words
Published in
1 min readDec 5, 2020

--

1. Dad’s pipe tobacco. All six feet 200 pounds of him watching Gunsmoke on Saturday night, he couldn’t hit while he puffed.

2. Ivory soap. The bar that floated. After my bath, I was 99.44% pure. My impurities left a ring around the tub.

3. Pine-Sol. Mother cared enough about me to mop the floor I walked on.

4. Chalk dust. It collected in the tray beneath the blackboard in high school Spanish class and sifted into the air, as I passed notes to the boy two seats over.

5. Newsprint ink. I proofed the copy for want ads, ferreted out typos from freshly printed pages. A solitary summer job in the basement of the News-Press, my hermit sanctuary.

6. Shalimar. A dab behind each ear just before dates with men who were always short and skinny.

7. Eucalyptus trees. At the Vedanta Society in Santa Barbara. My sibs and I meditated at vespers, after laying Dad to rest. Eucalyptus blessed our prayers.

--

--