Sex will not suffice

Amora
a Few Words
Published in
2 min readApr 5, 2021
Photo by Andres Hernandez on Unsplash

***
A sultry afternoon
Of a mercurial summer
We stood close in a bus
Talking throughout
Like the wind blows
And doesn’t stop

“Just friends”
We called ourselves
Maybe because it seemed convenient
Getting into anything more
Was complicated for sure
A journey of ups and downs
And probable heartbreaks

But we talked and talked
Like no one was around
Our eyes were locked
We couldn’t hear no sound

The bus jerked to a stop
My hand slipped to his
A spark was ignited
Something was amiss
His helpless eyes
Stuck with me

The communication of eyes
And my fingers on his wrist
Fearful and confusing
So “just friends” it is

Our bodies craved for each other
And that was for sure
Such electricity could not be missed
No one else excited me
Nothing else aroused
I didn’t have him though
I knew that I had to
Not for one night
Not in one room

But was sex enough
I asked myself
No steamy encounter with him would suffice
He was in my soul, my body and my mind

Love is not sex and sex is not love
I saw him that day
And learnt every which way
Love craves for sex
And sex craves for love
And anything in between
Is as empty as it gets

Rubbing your bodies
With anyone you find
May be an enjoyable exercise
But nothing more than a well
Deep but empty
With water all dried

You will be amazed at how
Love will make you want the same person
Once, twice or thrice
For an eternal life
And maybe beyond that life
For you are not tied by sex
It’s always love that ties.

--

--

Amora
a Few Words

I write stories that challenge the established social norms, motivate people to believe in themselves, and focus on rhyme or reason. Science before caprice.