Take a Trip Back to Our Childhood

Sometimes in our lives, we need to take a rest and think about our childhood, the most naive time in a person life.

Trung V. Nguyen
a Few Words
3 min readJul 6, 2020

--

Photo by Robert Collins on Unsplash

My wife and I finished the Harry Potter sequels last week. That was amazing when we could immerse ourselves in the magical world, the world of wizards, spells, wands, flying broom, and Quidditch. I felt like I was an 8-year-old boy again when I watched these movies though I have lived through a third of my life. Then, I wished I could have chances to be a kid again.

I remember the time I was a kid. I spent much time to play soccer with my neighbors. Candies, chocolate, cartoons — they were all things a kid wanted. That was the time I did not have to think about life. I enjoyed it.

But, there were lots of limitation when we were a kid. We were not allowed to drink, we could not work to earn money, and adults told us to stay away from many things. Otherwise, something terrible would happen. That time, we wished to grow up to do whatever we want.

Then we grow up. We start thinking about how to handle our problems: bills, how to control our finance, how to earn money. The life we are living is not the same as what we thought before. It is not about we cannot do anything we like. We can, but we have to think about doing something helpful for our living. It is the life of responsibility, of obligations, with family, friends, workplace.

We need to satisfy with what we have, and we should not complain about them. However, even we are happy with it, a part of our souls still wants to find a way back to the past. We wish to be a child again.

We realize that the world around us is full of problems. A virus spreading to the world affects the whole life: lockdown situation, the downturn of the economy, no travelling. We do not know when that pandemic will stop. Then, we see how leaders in the world are doing to deal with the pandemic: the president of the most influential country in the world used unproven drugs to ‘cure’ the disease, the president of a country in Southern America brought the country to the second wave of the pandemic without taking responsibility for that. Then, deaths of black people raised public awareness against racism again all around the world.

That’s enough for the year 2020 though it has just passed its half way. All I want to do now is just taking a cup of tea, sitting down and hoping that I can have a chance to go back to childhood, without thinking of anything around me.

Some days, we would need to take a rest like that, to get out of reality and enjoy joyful memories when we were kids — the most naive time of our lives.

--

--

Trung V. Nguyen
a Few Words

Legal practitioner | Travel lover | Blogger-to-be.