Taken

A Poem Honoring Our Feelings — Without Judgement.

Imane
a Few Words
2 min readApr 2, 2022

--

Photo by Javier Cruz: https://www.pexels.com/photo/aerial-photo-of-flower-garden-2917820/

Taken

They say it’s taken, Yet

I don’ know where it begins

I do’t know where it ends.

Strangers yet strangled by

The chains, we’ve lovingly made

*

True to my heart I stay

That which bled, broken it’s gotten

From the rabbit hole, I was

shielding it from; where it’s fallen

For they say it’s “Taken”

Taken are his feelings

Taken is his attention

Taken is his time

Taken is his affection

So what is left?

*

“Taken” haunts me

Was I conversing with his shadow?

“Taken” haunts me.

Who’s to blame for this chaos?

“Taken” haunts me. As though,

All of it was but a movie. Yet,

A mundane memory remains

In the chamber of his ‘special things’

*

I wonder what was taken

and what was I taking away?

For my heart tells a different story

One, where I wasn’t a villain

For feeling this kind of way

For there was no smoke without fire

Yet, I’m to blame. When

I’ve yet to know what I’m taking

When I was giving mine away

*

Barefoot, I’m walking on thorns of

Feelings that come with the smell of rose

Petals have been swept away

By the chillness of “taken”

A word I’ve yet to fathom anyway

And the castle that I thought I’d seen

Was hidden by a jungle of trees

Taken; was there no space?

In that big castle,

For those in question to reign

Taken; were those trees fences?

That I’ve ventured through someday

*

They say it is “taken”. Yet,

I don’t know where it begins,

I don’t know where it ends.

Strangers we’ve become. Strangled

We are, by the fire we both set.

Who’s stealing whose heart?

A question that hasn’t been answered yet.

-Imane Ben

___________________________________________________________________

Author note:

It has been a while. I hope life has been treating you all well and I wish you a lovely springtime!

--

--