that bowl of halwa

memories while cooking halwa

Priyanka Srivastava
a Few Words

--

photo by Author

Today I cooked something which reminded me of home, the same aroma when my mother would cook this halwa, it’s been years since I have eaten this.

So today I took out that packet kept in the drawer and searched the recipe in my food blog, without following any measurement I cooked it to drink in those memories again — the beginning of winters in North India, those postcards which family keeps sending from home and my own festival nostalgia.

I churned it all in the halwa and now that bowl is in the kitchen radiating warmth. Now I know when the family is back home they will know I don’t survive on endless cups of coffee and words, some days I walk in the kitchen and cook those memories nestled somewhere.

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--

Priyanka Srivastava
a Few Words

Editor of Literary Impulse, Writer when I am free, Artist when my words are silent and reader when there are books which I love to read.