The Beauty of Vulnerability

Michelle Saade
a Few Words
Published in
2 min readJan 18, 2021
Photo by Pasha Chusovitin on Unsplash

We live in a world where we are taught that crying or expressing how you feel is a weakness.

For instance, when we are young, and we want some guy/girl’s attention, our friends would advise us to “act like you don’t care” or “not to show interest” because if you did, the other person would lose theirs.

Can you see the contradiction in that? According to many people, you should act like you don’t care to attract the ones you do care about.

This “trick” may work for some people who are dominated by their egos, but I don’t want to be one of them. Not anymore. If I want to see someone, I will tell them. If I want to express concern, I will say so. And if the other person goes away, it is quite simple — it’s not right for me.

Vulnerability is beautiful. It is one of the few times in which we actually connect with our inner self. And in this turbulent world, that is hard to accomplish.

People will tell you that you will look desperate or that you have no pride, or even worse, no dignity if you express your feelings. I think that is the most stupid statement.

Saying what’s in your heart is a wonderful thing. I prefer losing someone after I spoke my heart out than due to absurd indifference.

So expose yourself, tell your feelings, speak the truth. These things are the opposite of weakness. It is brave to say how you feel. It is brave to speak up when you don’t know how that will turn out. But at least you took action.

At least you beat the ego; hence, you already won.

--

--