Photo by Olya Kuzovkina on Unsplash

The Big Questions

Dawn Downey
a Few Words
Published in
2 min readApr 18, 2021

--

Who invented God?

What does empathy feel like?

Astrophysicists report that 85% of the universe is dark matter, and that they don’t know anything about dark matter. So, how do they know how much space it takes up?

What’s the difference between procrastination and waiting for an opportunity that feels right?

What are dandelions? Flowers or vegetables or weeds?

How many wrongs does it take to make a right?

Because the polar ice caps are melting, is hell freezing over right now?

Stage fright gives me nausea and the runs and a headache. So does the flu. How can I tell which one I’m having?

Where is the Land of Opportunity? Is there a map?

When scientists discover that time runs in all directions, will the discovery happen in the future or the past?

How can I tell if I’m being compassionate?

Why is backyard one word and front yard is two?

What is the distinction between faith and superstition?

How do cats make that purring sound, and why is it irresistible?

Same question … substitute babies and cooing.

Are people an invasive species?

I have seen ghosts. That’s not a question. Are the ghosts in my world, or am I in theirs?

How much help does a person deserve?

I was having a dream about my husband Ben. As I was waking up, he walked into the bedroom in real life. While I was half-asleep and half-awake, there were two equally believable Bens, and I had a choice of which Ben to believe in. Which did I choose?

What happens when an irresistible force and an immovable object meet a curious mind?

--

--