The blessings of dying

I finally have an open, honest relationship with my mother

Shefali O'Hara
a Few Words

--

Photo by Natalia Sobolivska on Unsplash

My mother grew up in India. She was raised a certain way. Feminine women didn’t talk about certain things. They were circumspect with their words.

Did I know my mother loved me? Yes. But talking with her could be an exercise in frustration, in guessing at hidden meanings and stepping in mine fields. Sometimes I felt she tore me down as much as she built me up.

When I was diagnosed with a metastatic brain tumor, all of that changed.

I no longer have time for niceties. I have become brutally honest. The guard rails are gone because I don’t have the energy for caution anymore. Now I speak the truth as I see it and I confront people if I need to.

It’s wonderful and it’s freeing, but it’s changed my relationship with my mother.

I used to pander to her because she is the mother. So even if I knew she was wrong, I’d give in. That is what dutiful Indian daughters do. No more.

This morning I told her I may need to move.

Mom lives with me. “I don’t want to move,” she said.

“That is fine,” I told her. “You don’t have to. But I will do what is best for me, and if moving is best for me, I will do it. So you need to be…

--

--

Shefali O'Hara
a Few Words

Cancer survivor, writer, engineer. BSEE from MIT, MSEE, and MA in history. Love nature, animals, books, art, and interesting discussions.