The Dark Truth of Happiness

What No One Talks About.

Jed Silverlake
a Few Words
2 min readJul 25, 2020

--

Photo by Sebastiaan Stam from Pexels

There’s this lie that goes: “If I work hard, I’ll get promoted. And once I finally have a pay raise, THEN I’ll be happy”

We believe that we need to work hard first, then happiness second.

But, that’s a broken formula of happiness,

If getting promoted will make you happy, then every employee in the world who is given a new position should be celebrating. But that’s not the case.

In reality, we are happy, but only for a short while

With each victory, our next plan keeps getting higher and higher. And when that happens, we’d say to ourselves: if only I have a dream home if only I got married— then will I let myself be happy again.

But the sad truth: Life will fail you at least once

Photo by Monopoly Board Game

So what if Life decided to play a game with you? Gave you the unlucky Jail Card and you’re goals are delayed and other players pass ahead of you.

Do we just call it a day and never laugh at the jokes of others?

No, that’s not it.

This is why you don’t tie happiness to a certain outcome.

But I’m not saying that it’s bad to work hard and get that pay raise, just don’t hate yourself when Life decided not to give you the win.

If you control how you react, and by staying happy no matter the outcome:

You then already won half the battle and Life just goes on.

--

--

Jed Silverlake
a Few Words

I help Startup Founders & Ecommerce Stores rank #1 in Google SEO. Want me to help your business grow? Contact me: linkedin.com/in/jedsilverlake