The Night I Came Out As Bipolar

I instantly had an outpouring of support from people I’d never imagine.

Julia A. Lange
a Few Words
2 min readFeb 20, 2020

--

Image: Pexels.com

Recently, I read an article on The Mighty about a Twitter trend.

People started coming out about their mental health history in an Alcoholic's Anonymous fashion.

Though I am not a Twitter fanatic, I felt compelled to follow the trend on my Facebook.

I was raised not to talk about my mental illnesses. People might think I’m crazy and judge me. Gasp!

But in that moment, I longed support.

So I wrote:

My name is Julia. I’m 27 years old. I was recently diagnosed with Bipolar disorder type 2. I am still struggling with this diagnosis, but in the end I’m still me.

I instantly had an outpouring of support from people I’d never imagine.

I finally feel free.

But most importantly, I felt the love that night.

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--

Julia A. Lange
a Few Words

I write about my brain and other things that interest me.