The Power of Long-Lasting Friendship

What long-term friendships have taught me over the years

Alison Schaffir
a Few Words

--

Photo by Simon Maage on Unsplash

Deep friendships are the most special kind.

There’s something to say about the friends who have been there through the different stages of your life. These are the ones who can read your mind, know your preferences, and serve as the ultimate confidants.

My longest friend, Catherine, has been a part of my life for the past seventeen years. To put that into perspective, that’s three-fourths of my life that she’s stood by my side.

Every day, I find myself grateful for her unwavering support, and the fact that our friendship has withstood the test of time.

Here are a few of the reasons why long-lasting friendship is, in my opinion, one-of-a-kind, and an ode to the ones who have been there from the start.

You don’t sweat the surface-level

Whether funky glasses or disastrous haircuts, long-term friends have witnessed it all. Yet, for some miraculous reason, they’re still by your side. Underneath the surface, neither one of you cares about outward appearances or fleeting phases.

These are the friends who know you better than you know yourself — like your favorite ice cream flavor, or that song on…

--

--

Alison Schaffir
a Few Words

Young Adult Author of YOUR DREAM FOR ME (March 2023) | Rep’d by Birch Literary | NYC-Based Social Media Strategist | Twitter: @ASchaffir