The Power Of Routine

Abayomi Omoogun
a Few Words
Published in
3 min readMar 24, 2019

The secret of your future is hidden in your daily routine. — Mike Murdock

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

People always find it difficult when I tell them to make this or that a routine if you really want to achieve that. But in reality, there is no way we can do our daily task or activities if at first, we don’t make it a routine.

Routine is a course of action to be followed regularly.

When you wake up and decided to brush, it is not an ingrained habit, but rather we made it a routine first before making it a habit.

There is no successful person who doesn’t have a clear routine of what their day is. Even the middle-class people all have a routine and yet when you tell people to make a certain task a routine to achieve something they find it difficult to do.

A friend of mine came to meet me and said he wants to start reading books that how can he start. Told him to find time out of his 24 hours and dedicate time out of it for reading every day. That it is as simple as that. He chuckled, and I said what? He said I don’t have time to do that every day. Good luck finding your way to read then.

Photo by Luis Quintero on Unsplash

When I wanted to reduce my weight size and get fit, I started on a high note, but I fell flat because I could not make the exercise a routine which cost me dearly. I later asked my friend who told me he wanted to start reading to tell me how many books he has read so far you guessed right zero.

You want to start reading books, read every day it is not compulsory you read 30, 50 or even finish a book all at once but just read something even if it is a page or 10 lines just read. Same too with writing, write every day if you want to write a book. Same goes with exercise you want to be fit, exercise every day or find a way to make it a routine.

The essence of routine is that this thing later goes on to become a habit for us at the end of the day. Something we can’t do without. Just as you can’t do without brushing and bathing.

Following a routine to what we want to achieve is something we should embrace and not run from.

It might be difficult initially at the start, but it pays off in the long run. Finding a way to make what you want a routine is great if you know how to go about it.

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s brand new publication which only accepts stories that have less than 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit our page.

--

--