The Riddle Of Being Secretly In Love

Another kind of heartbreak without the breakup

Gabriela Vela
a Few Words
1 min readAug 19, 2020

--

Photo by Genessa Panainte on Unsplash

“I’ll call you back!”

I knew it was a toxic friendship,

Every time I talked to you, you didn't listen

I met your friends, yet you never met mine

“Best Friend” you once told me

A key chain attached to you

That's how I felt, but you never notice.

A new love on your front porch

I got erased from your new life

I wonder what friendship means to you

Why? What did I do wrong?

Those thoughts hunted me at night

A year goes by,

I met new people, a new start

A promise to myself to never look back

I thought we were friends,

now You became my past

A call on New Years Eve

You crying on the phone

The worst came to my mind

“I'll call you back!”

Those were your last words.

--

--