The Robber of Your Focus

Oftentimes doing more gets you less.

M.P. Erickson
a Few Words
3 min readAug 18, 2020

--

Photo by Quino Al on Unsplash

Years ago my parents took my brothers and me to a pottery shop in Turkey. I remember sitting and watching as the potter mixed a clump of clay and some water and slapped the wad in the middle of his wheel. Once happy with the consistency of his clay he used his feet to spin the potter’s wheel and then the real magic happened.

Not real magic of course. But the magic of being singly focussed.

The potter slowing guided his hands towards the lump until as light as a breath he made contact with the tan-colored lump. Little by little his fingers guided the spinning shape upward into a new form. He made indentions along its length to give it curves. Then with one finger made a small opening on top.

Near the bottom, the potter made a wider, flat-shaped plate of sorts. He also took a small piece of clay, rolled it, then curved and placed the new “handle” onto the bottom of the plate.

A small candlestick holder was born.

Once the show was over we went into the pottery store. I saw a candlestick holder very similar to the one the potter had recently made and bought it.

Turkish Candlestick Holder by MP Erickson

Many times I try to be creative or get things done but find myself encumbered not by lack of creativity or ability but by lack of focus. I pictured all my tasks and often tried to multitask my way through a day.

Yes, it is possible to multitask in some areas, but most of the time multitasking led me to a lack of focus. I often found that in the end, it would have been better to have engaged in focussed single-tasking.

When I look at my candlestick holder I am reminded of the beauty and creativity that comes with focus. This can be true in any area of life. Family, friends, relationships, career, hobbies, etc.

Anything worth doing is worth doing well and yields better results with your undistracted attention.

If multitasking has been your mainstay in your interactions, then I have a challenge for you: try focussed single-tasking for a day or a week. Picture yourself as a potter with each task you complete. Try it with each meal you prepare and with each conversation you engage in.

You don’t have to take a long time with each task. Just give every single task your undivided attention even for a few seconds or minutes.

You might end up creating something that will creatively speak to you for many years to come.

--

--

M.P. Erickson
a Few Words

Growing up around the world has given me a unique view to share. My goal is to challenge and give hope. Writer for Building Beginners; facebook.com/mp.erickson