The Sea

Jui Chawan
a Few Words
Published in
1 min readJun 25, 2020
Photo by Mohammad Ali Mohtashami on Unsplash

The salty breeze wasn’t always attractive,
The horizon was aspiring yet intimidating

But as I went a little far from the shore
I enjoyed the marvels of liberal waters
The coldness, the rocky surface, the smell

Unfortunately, it was getting late, the time was up
I was washed back ashore
My hands tried to grasp
My legs wanted to run back in

The tide was rising and I had to wait till tomorrow
I wondered why had I gone in?

Some shells washed up
Some muck still in my toes

- Jui Chawan

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--

Jui Chawan
a Few Words

Amateur poet, avid traveler, a voice against gender inequality, bibliophile in the making and owl lover!