the three muses of montreal

a city of beauty

Connie Song
a Few Words
2 min readNov 26, 2019

--

Photo credit: Ben White Photography on Unsplash

Montreal breathes life

onto cobblestone streets

and sidewalk cafes with pretty people

as we wait on a long line once again

for the second night

to steal yet another kiss

to taste with anticipation le jardin’s special lobster seafood crepes

an encore presentation

to melt our sublime lips

into submission of a love story for a city

with bicycles and street entertainers

performing their magic in vieux port

like a fine wine, an old port

It feels magical here

and when I saw the three muses

on Rue Saint-Paul

engaged in conversation

or perhaps gossip

I’m sure above a whisper,

uninvited, I joined them,

since they conjured memories of carefree days

with my best friends and so I felt

drawn to their beauty

les chuchoteuses

bronze art in motionless motion

i intruded on their privacy

i invaded their space

I inquired as to who they were

I even googled,

les chuchoteuses

I must be forgiven, for they blew my mind

with inspiration

les chuchoteuses

my lovely three muses on Rue Saint-Paul

in the beautiful, captivating city

of Montreal.

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--

Connie Song
a Few Words

Reader | Writer | Poet | Medium Top Writer | But Am I Demure Enough? | Twitter Connie Song 10.