The war with my mind

A poem about anxiety

Kyndall Ramirez
a Few Words
1 min readNov 3, 2021

--

Photo by Christopher Ott via Unsplash

Some days, it’s easy.

Some days, it’s hard.

Some days, I forget I’m even at war.

With each interaction,

a fight inside happens.

Why did I answer her question that way?

Why can’t I be normal just for one day?

I don’t understand why they’re looking at me,

Is there something wrong that I just can’t see?

I feel uncomfortable in my own skin.

I don’t think this is a war I can win.

I pick up my armor each and every day.

I put on a smile to keep the questions away.

Behind my eyes, these thoughts go on.

I dream of a day where they are gone.

Back in my bed at the day’s end,

Tomorrow, I’ll wake, and start over again.

I close my eyes, and my mind lights up.

Anxiety lives to interrupt.

I’m too tired to fight the good fight.

I wish anxiety would just leave my life.

--

--

Kyndall Ramirez
a Few Words

Here to provoke thought, share perspective, and let my creative mind run free.