Then and Now

Heidi Chase
a Few Words
Published in
2 min readMar 31, 2020

pre-shelter-in-place (then)

Photo by Renan Kamikoga on Unsplash

These are the days

When there is no escape from

The unrelenting demands

The tight schedule dictating

Every minute of my precious day

Mechanized and predetermined

When I need to go where and with whom

Breathing room is nowhere in sight

That will have to wait until

The to-do list is done

post-stay-at-home (now)

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

The endless days inside force me

To confront myself with no excuses

Gone is the daily grind offering

Routines and activities distracting

Dismal observations of my family

So easily and quickly lured to laziness

The kitchen table and sofa become battlegrounds

Where quirks and conservations unleash frustration

Settled quickly with a hug, a laugh, no exit

A “go to hell” or an “I love you”

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--

Heidi Chase
a Few Words

May I continue to be inspired by the ups and downs of my personal and professional relationships