Photo by Kelly Evans on Unsplash

THINGS THAT TERRIFIED ME IN 4TH GRADE

Dawn Downey
a Few Words
Published in
Feb 13, 2021

--

  • Dad
  • Morning stomachache
  • “I don’t want to hear it. You’re going to school.”
  • Losing my milk money
  • The kid who exposed himself
  • The thing he exposed
  • Tether ball
  • Four-square
  • The jungle gym
  • Walking home alone
  • The alley behind our house
  • The German shepherds that lived across the street
  • The razor strop
  • Cockroaches in my clothes
  • Our basement
  • Mama’s blank face
  • Afternoon headache
  • “Go outside and play.”
  • Hide and seek
  • Tag
  • Snowballs
  • “Why’s she crying again?”
  • My sister’s horror comic books
  • “You’re not budging from the table until you eat every one of those carrots.”
  • Twilight Zone
  • Bedtime
  • Shouting from behind my parents’ bedroom door
  • Scratching noises under my bed
  • The Outer Limits soundtrack
  • Sleep

--

--