Through The Dark Valley and Across The Rainbow Bridge

Joshua Theodorus Kurnia
a Few Words
Published in
2 min readFeb 11, 2021

I wonder how it feels to fall in love.

To have butterflies swirling on top of my head, as cupid successfully hits his arrow to the bullseye of my heart.

To have someone wrap their hands around my hands, as we doze off to dreamland.

To have a shoulder to cry, to have a companion to fly, to have a second half filling this void.

A void I had struggled with for too long, meaning to fill, meaning to cover, yet I kept drowning deeper,

and deeper.. into the abyss with self-conscious lies, toxic denial, and dishonesty to the world, as I stayed hidden in this weird hide and seek game.

I know it’s not a choice. I know it would sting like poison ivies, a rose full of thorns, I know I’m breaking these molded thrones. I know it’s not the real me, but rather a fake shade of me I wanted the world to see.

I know, I know… but do I?

When the world tells me it’s a shame I should never proclaim, when the world judges me like I’m on a million dollar trial, when the world never shows representation of who I aspire to be, and when the world fails my every expectation how I see me,

love still wins.

Love finds its way through the slither of light, that is barely left open, peeking through my inactive heart.

Love prevails and overwhelms me with deep hidden emotions and desires.

Love stands true to who I have been since the day I was born, and who I am destined to be.

Love is redefined with authentic honesty, no labels, no judgement, and no terms and conditions.

This is me.

Me on a pilgrim of finding the illusive love. A work-in-progress hollow tin foil robot. Yes.. a hollow tin foil robot,

but who is full of life, and so ready to spillover and to give, to spread, and to receive. And to explode with a colorfully abundant warm fuzzy love from every nook and corner and inches of my being.

I am on a journey.

A journey to grab that love I have always so desired yet so hard to reach, from the endless labyrinth of self loathing, and the bondage of the shadow,

through the bottom of the dark valley, and across the rainbow bridge,

I emerge to freedom like a blackbird taking flight into the deep blue blank canvas, next to a proudly waving flag that says,

“Love always wins”.

--

--

Joshua Theodorus Kurnia
a Few Words

A global traveler, poet, and observer writing from one stop of his journey at a time.