Twenty-eight

Is this what it’s supposed to be

Kyndall Ramirez
a Few Words
1 min readDec 10, 2021

--

By Inga Gezalian via Unsplash

I turn 28 in two weeks
when I think back to who I thought
I’d be by now,
at first thought, she isn’t me.

She’s further along.
She’s successful.
She’s madly in love.
She’s living out her dreams.
She’s everything I ought to be.

But when I take a moment
of reflection,
I realize that’s my ego talking
she’s here for my protection.

If I go past the thoughts,
beneath the surface,
I see her for who she is
and who she’s destined to be
despite the age of her body.

She’s bright.
She’s kind.
She’s full of love.
She’s surpassed her dream.
She’s more than I thought she’d be.

Ten years ago today age 28
felt like a lifetime away.
As I sit here on
the cusp of my next chapter,
I remember when I wished deeply
for life to move faster.

Little did I know,
there’d come a moment
where I’d wish that time
could move just a little bit slower.

I turn 28 in two weeks,
and I’ve realized I’m
exactly where I’m supposed to be.
My younger self is so proud of me.

--

--

Kyndall Ramirez
a Few Words

Here to provoke thought, share perspective, and let my creative mind run free.