Two Things I Do to Keep Healthy Eating in This Quarantine Time

It’s not about cutting down on food

Janie.Thelotus
a Few Words
3 min readApr 13, 2020

--

Healthy diet/ Veggies pokie bowl and fresh refuel juice

Do you ever realize that you over-eat in this quarantine time?

A friend of mine eats several meals every day and guilty of it. He knows that he wasn’t hungry, but eats a lot because he’s bored, stuck at home, and surrounded by foods and snacks.

I used to be a typical person eating out of boredom. If I was at home, I attempted to check on kitchen cabinets, refrigerator, and pantry and of course, got some snacks, and I ate more often.

Eaten up by bored or emotional eating is very common. And in this Corora-virus pandemic, social-isolation leads to stresses and over-eating habit, some people feel powerless against food.

So how to stop boredom eating and make your diet healthier?

1. Get rid of unhealthy snacks and clean out your pantry

That’s right. You have to clean your kitchen with all those junk food.

I removed all the junk food such as chips, chocolates, ice -cream, and replaced by fine snacks such as Greek yogurt, a variety kind of fresh fruits (strawberry, apple, pears, berries). I always keep fruits on display- the more visible and accessible, the more I likely to eat.

Besides, if you don’t have any Junk Food to eat out of boredom, you won’t eat them. It’s easier to keep healthy eating habits.

2. Keep some healthy recipes in your pockets

As a person who delights in fine food, I always look up and try different recipes in my free time.

In this self-isolation period, we might have nothing but time, this could be a good opportunity to spend time with family and give each other nourishment.

But be aware, don’t bake cakes, cookies most of the time if you want to be healthy. Your body needs more vitamins rather than sweets to defeat the virus. I got myself some secret daily healthy recipes that I make one by one every day to keep myself fit, beautiful, and healthy.

Refuel juice/ taken by Janie.Thelotus

Refuel Juice

4 fresh apple

½ beetroot

2 stalks of celery

5 slices of ginger

1 carrot

Green Dream juice/Taken by Janie.Thelotus

Green Dream

1–2 pieces of kales

2 stalks of celery

1 handful spinach

¼ cucumber

4 fresh apple

Instructions: Use a cold press juicer to press all the ingredients, and drink fresh on an empty stomach, wait for 15 mins before consuming anything.

Some people say that juices can’t replace the veggies and fruits taken-in.

Of course, sometimes you can’t eat the whole celery or beets, which contains vital vitamins (K, A) and minerals. Therefore, ideal daily drink recipes help your body absorb the perfect amount of nutrition and vitamins.

To me, drinking juice in the morning on an empty stomach has cleared up my skin problems, detoxified my body. After one month, my skin has been brightening, glowing, and radiant.

If you want to have longevity, a healthy and happy life, put two strategies to the test every single day. Give it a try. Trust me, the benefit of these strategies are so good that you can’t ignore.

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--

Janie.Thelotus
a Few Words

A lifelong learner, a positive girl who is up for challenge.