Understanding What Makes You Happy, For Those of Us Making It up as We Go Along

Find the reason, find the joy

Caithlin Palfrey
a Few Words

--

Ever felt like the sum of all the things you didn’t like?

Sharing what I don’t want has always been easier than knowing what I do want. I don’t want to be a doctor. I don’t want to jump out of an airplane. I don’t want to have walls painted red in my space.

In life, there is space only to be a few things and room not to be a lot of things. It easy to rustle up an opinion of something when it’s in front of you. It’s reactive, emotive. You can see a red painted wall and confidently say that’s an outright no. Not in my home. Which shade you are going for remains a mystery because there is no why. It’s not an active decision, but a visual response.

Sound familiar?

Every home I have ever lived in, every space I have called my own has been sprinkled with fairy lights. Until the first home I owned.

Turns out fairy lights are very renter friendly. They definitely serve their purpose in bedrooms or decking the house inside and out during December. In a living room with two wall lights, a ceiling light and a fireplace they look lost. They detract from the television when it’s on and use a switch that’s not very accessible.

--

--

Caithlin Palfrey
a Few Words

Living, learning & working in the same space. Choosing simple changes that make a big difference. Practicing gratitude everyday. https://livelearntogether.co.uk