We Are Born to be Who We Are

Regina Halmae
a Few Words
Published in
2 min readOct 14, 2020
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

I recently stumbled upon a fun online test to find out who I was in my past life. The results showed, much to my surprise, that in my previous life I was Aristotle. According to Wiki, he was a philosopher whose writings covered subjects like physics, biology, zoology, metaphysics, logic, ethics, aesthetics, poetry, theatre, music, psychology, linguistics, economics, politics and government during the Classical period in Ancient Greece. I always thought that even if I had a previous life I would have been Anne Boleyn. Somehow, even today, I can relate to her.

The more I think about it, being Aristotle in my previous life makes sense. I’m a kindergarten teacher today and my sources of knowledge are endless. I don’t teach just one subject, I teach everything. In simplified manner, of course. I might have my own opinion but I always have to consider other opinions as well. There’s never right or wrong answers in life, it all depends on how you explain your ideas. There are also facts, like the colour red, but even red has at least fifty shades.

Every single one of us has a purpose in this life. Even if it seems little or meaningless, there is a reason why we’re on this planet right now. What is the purpose of this generation? Maybe we have to stop competing and fighting with each other, end all wars. Might be that we have to take a radical step to stop the climate change. Maybe we’ve reached the time where every single person matters, and every single person should have his or her own free will to decide what to do and how to do it. This could be the time to stop bullying each other. Or trying to be better than others.

It’s the year of 2020. Our average life expectancy in 2019 was 73 years. That’s a very long time period given to us to achieve something. We are who we are. We can’t change where or when we are born or what skin colour we have. We can adapt and try to make the world better by being a leading positive example. Every single day. Most of us know right from wrong, but some of us choose to ignore their conscience.

This year is difficult for the whole population of this planet. Some people think they’re invincible, but they too have their last breath somewhere around the average life expectancy. Considering the history of this planet, we’re just a blip, a second. But being right here, right now and doing the right thing might echo through the future. I say this again, we can’t change who we are but we can make an effort to have a better life during the average 73 years we have here.

--

--

Regina Halmae
a Few Words

Early Years Educator, MA. Full-time mother, professional teacher and spare time writer. Topics: Family, Education, Relationships, Self-help, Writing, and more.