What I Love and Hate About My 9 to 5 Job

Mohammed Rashid
a Few Words
Published in
3 min readNov 28, 2019

--

Photo by Headway on Unsplash

Nowadays, a regular job has become a choice rather than the norm. Many are moving into entrepreneurship. Many are dreaming to escape from 9 to 5 jobs one day.

I work as a senior mobile app developer in an IT company. As a coin has two sides, I have a love-hate relationship with my job.

Four Reasons I am in Love with My Job

1. Consistent Income

My income doesn’t fluctuate. I get a salary every month and that’s a surety. I can plan my expenses according to my income.

Even though I don’t have a high salary, my bills are cleared at the beginning of the month.

2. More People, More Connections.

The strength of the company I am working for is 40. So I have a possibility for more interactions.

My company is situated in an IT hub surrounded by other Technology firms. I have a good chance to grow my connections. These connections even can land me a better job.

3. Opportunity to Learn

I have direct opportunities to learn from senior colleagues with tons of experience. Management or Leadership, I can learn various kinds of stuff.

Even though there are many other sources to learn such as online courses, direct learning is more effective.

4. Challenges

I face various challenges at work on a daily basis. Every challenge is a problem for me and I try my best to come up with proper solutions. These challenges certainly upgraded my problem-solving skills as well as my decision-making skills.

Facing challenges makes me a better person with a strong mentality.

Four Reasons I Hate My Job

Slow Growth

Even if my work brings big fortunes to my company I would have slow and gradual growth. There’s no such thing called exponential growth.

I have a ladder to climb, Internship-Junior Developer-Senior Developer-Team Lead-Project Manager. I can’t take a lift to reach the top quickly.

It’s Not Really 9 to 5

When the deadlines are approaching I have to work more than 9 to 5 hours. Yes, I always have an eye on my productivity levels but still sometimes working extra hours become a necessity.

Working late always suck. It shrinks my life to a work-sleep-work pattern. Additionally, I have a commutation of 1 hour to my office from my home.

Insufficient Salary

My salary is sufficient for basic needs but not for advanced needs. An emergency requirement of a good amount of money can make me helpless.

I also have less money to save for the future. My salary finishes when the month ends. Surplus money is a distant dream now.

It can Spoil your Day

Mounting pressure and bad feedback from my project manager are enough to spoil my day. I carry those leftovers in my head even after leaving the office.

I know office stuff should be left at the office. But for me, it’s just a theory and not practical.

The ratio of my love and hate for a regular job is 1:1. Sometimes hate outweighs love and vice versa. As of now, the 9 to 5 job is my choice. It may or may not change in the future.

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--