What Makes Us Male or Female?

Spoiler Alert: It starts with biology

Sara J.
a Few Words

--

Photo by Artur Aldyrkhanov on Unsplash

We live in a binary world. We’re born male or female. There’s no challenging the biology we’ve been assigned— or so society tells us.

What if society is wrong?

At birth, I was assigned male because I looked male. Three years later, my mind started to veer a sharp left away from my body. Inside, I knew I was a girl. But, everything and everyone around me told me I was wrong.

That feeling never went away. Years later, this nameless undercurrent of my life got a name: gender dysphoria. Today’s society calls me transgender.

But, what makes us male or female? It’s not just what’s between our legs. There must be something more.

Gender differences: Nature or nurture?

A 2017 Gallup study asked over 4,500 Americans about gender differences. They found that most agree that differences exist in how men and women express their feelings, pursue hobbies, and approach parenting.

But, shift the conversation to why these gender differences exist and that agreement evaporates. People just can’t agree on whether the way men and women approach life comes from how we are born or how we are socialized.

--

--

Sara J.
a Few Words

Sara has been a curator of antiquities, translated Spanish in six countries, and tells executives they’re wrong all the time. Oh … and she’s transfeminine too.