where are the mermaids?

a poem on the boardwalk of coney island

Connie Song
a Few Words
1 min readDec 1, 2019

--

Photo credit: Nsey Benajah photography on Unsplash

~~~

I found a nickel on the boardwalk
if only I could find a dime

I’d ride the Cyclone in a minute
if only I could find the time

then I saw him swimming in the ocean
I was counting seashells, cracked and broken

waves collide and crashed
I noticed his tattoos in the sand

Winter’s gone, summer returning
Winter’s gone, where are the mermaids?

Kiss the sun and let the summer return

Finding ruby’s sitting in a corner
a steeplechase garden when you look a little further

mermaids dancing on the water,
enjoying the weekend

Winter’s gone, summer returning
Winter’s gone, where are the mermaids?

Kiss the sun and let the mermaids return.

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--

Connie Song
a Few Words

Reader | Writer | Poet | Medium Top Writer | Editor of Purple Ink | Coffee Fanatic | Twitter Connie Song 10.