Why I Write on Medium

It’s the smallest gestures that mean the most

Shental Rohan
a Few Words
3 min readJun 2, 2020

--

Photo by Kaitlyn Baker on Unsplash

I joined Medium slightly over two weeks ago. I was introduced to it by my sister- I’d never heard about it before, surprisingly! I loved the idea of being able to publish my work and decided to create an account and start writing!

I started writing on Medium because writing is one of my biggest passions and I wanted a place to save all the writing I did on one platform. And that’s pretty much it. I’ve written lots for school but I wanted to step up to writing opinion pieces and expressing my thoughts and ideas on a variety of subjects and topics, especially now that I had quite a lot of extra free time because my exams were canceled. The Medium layout was simplistic and easy to navigate which was an added bonus. But now, one month in, my reasons for writing on Medium have changed completely. It’s become more than about just myself- it’s about sharing and imparting whatever I have learned or found out, with others.

I write because I want to share with others, and I find that for me, this is the perfect place to do so. When people respond, clap, or even simply read my stories, I feel so inspired to keep on writing pieces, knowing that they are reaching and hopefully impacting even just a few people. I feel so grateful to everyone who takes the time to read a piece of my work. I never thought that this would become anything more than a place to share my writing with friends, but now I am able to write for so many amazing publications where my pieces can reach a much larger audience, which makes me really happy and proud of myself.

I have learned that it’s the small things that count. Although tempting, I try not to look at my stats too much. In the end, my goal here is to spread positivity, experiences, and ways of self-development that can impact people’s lives. I’m really glad that I have been successful with this so far, and I am committed to keep doing so.

I love how many different perspectives and ideas are shared by authors, and I have learned so much from their personal stories which are truly inspiring. I love how we can all connect with each other, from all over the world, through our words and feel part of a community.

Lockdown has been difficult for all of us. I live in Malaysia which started a Movement Control Order on March 18th, meaning I have been in quarantine for almost 2 and a half months. Nevertheless, one of the positives that came out of my time in isolation was discovering this platform, and spending time reading and writing here is always a highlight of my day. I hope everyone is staying safe and well in this time of uncertainty.

This story is published in a Few Words, Medium’s publication that only accepts stories under 500 words.

If you have a few meaningful words to say and want to be a writer in our publication, visit here.

--

--