You can’t hold on to memories

No matter how hard you try to

Katarina Zunic
a Few Words
1 min readSep 23, 2020

--

Photo by sarandy westfall on Unsplash

I went through my memory box

The ticket stubs had all paled

And you cannot see which movies you had seen

Or remember who was there to watch it with you

I went through my Facebook wall

Oh, how much sadness I found there

Was that person really my friend at the time

And how did it all disappear into thin air so easily

The silly pages we used to like

like “Which character from Friends are you”

are now all called “Page for sale” or contain some Chinese letters

instead of the meaning, they used to have

All of the posts I made seem embarrassing 10 years afterwards

and are way too revealing of personal information

(Will I feel the same way about my Medium articles 10 years in the future?)

I find solace in my growth

Because if I still thought the same things were funny or smart

It would mean I wasn’t living and changing and experiencing new things

There is no need to worry

Because all of the best memories are safely stored in your heart

And are inextricably woven into the shape of you

--

--

Katarina Zunic
a Few Words

The mind is dressed in knowledge. Critical thinking and introspectiveness keep it stylish.