Bayer to Buy Monsanto for $66 Billion

Ardith McCann
Against the Grain
2 min readSep 15, 2016

--

GMO Goes Global, Beyond the Reach of Regulation?

Well, you can really kiss your health goodbye now.

A friend of mine and I were just talking about the health repercussions of pesticides and the likely internal mutation benefits of GMO. Then yesterday I saw the first headline for the purchase of Monsanto by Bayer. It’s a gigantic nightmare in the making. And it looks like there is no stopping it.

I am reminded of a recording of an old radio show I heard online years ago. It was a science fiction story about human teleportation gone horribly wrong. In an amazingly vivid audio description, one traveler arrives on the receiving end completely turned inside out. The scientists in the scene are not only assaulted with the gruesome visage of a pile of internal organs and such. There are also clear audible sounds of sloshing, gurgling, even thumping.

My imagination quickly took hold and made me shiver at what it conjured up from the tale being told.

I feel a similar, gut-level revulsion for the Bayer/Monsanto news. It is human behavior at its darkest and I am sickened by the implications of this merger. It is a horror story far worse than fiction. If only I could simply turn off the “radio” and end the story right then and there.

--

--

Ardith McCann
Against the Grain

Research, Marketing, Writing, Art, and Generally Living Against the Grain