Random Bits: Non-GMO Recipe of the Day

Ardith McCann
Against the Grain
Published in
2 min readSep 3, 2016

--

Today I am launching a column for “Against the Grain” entitled Random Bits. This gives all contributors to the publication the opportunity to talk about a wide range of wacky topics and/or random thoughts.

Today’s Topic: A Quest

I am on a quest to make more authentic foods — rather than buy items that have historically seemed daunting to me to cook or bake. I’m also disgusted by what GMO or chemically-laced food can do to our bodies. Hence, my quest.

This past week I came across an easy-t0-make ice cream recipe that looked too good to be true, but I decided to give it a go anyway.

No Churn Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

This recipe comes from Erin, owner of dinnersdishesanddesserts.com blog. I honestly cannot thank her enough for this recipe. Not only is it ridiculously easy to make, it tastes amazing and the texture is perfect. Plus, no churning is required. FYI, I chose not to use any food coloring and I included the additional amount of peppermint extract.

Even though this isn’t my recipe, I find it so rewarding to make this type of recipe from scratch. Going totally organic with the ingredients just adds to the excitement. My thanks to Erin for giving me the opportunity to expand my authentic food making repetroire in a manageable way.

Next: Making Yeast Bread from Scratch

My sister is the bread maker in the family. It just comes easy to her. The first and only loaf of yeast bread I ever made was of the proverbial doorstop quality. Ever since, I have been on the lookout for a recipe that wouldn’t require me to master the magical art of dough kneading.

This week another blogger came to the rescue with what looks to be the perfect solution: Einkorn flour bread. There is no kneading needed. Ha Ha.

I plan to test the recipe this coming week, and will report back soon.

In the meantime, enjoy your weekend.

--

--

Ardith McCann
Against the Grain

Research, Marketing, Writing, Art, and Generally Living Against the Grain