Garden Talks 02 — Doctrina Natura

Agos
Agos
Published in
5 min readApr 7, 2022

For our second Garden Talk, we met with Doctrina Natura (Alex Caballero). He’s not just a great artist but a lovely person as well, and besides music, he works at various charities and projects, making the world a slightly better place in the process.

This talk is experienced better with music. Press play.

You’ve recorded your mix during an event with Luigi Tozzi and Antonio Vazquez. Tell us more about your experience during this night.

To be precise, this is the second part of the mix, more oriented to Techno music. If I have to describe the perfect night, this has been without a doubt. Music, environment, sound quality…I can’t say anything negative. I met many friends that I had not seen for a long time and met many new people. Luigi was such a kind guy, he was during the whole night listening respectfully, and of course, his live was a blast. Then, Antonio Vazquez closed the night just as he knows. He can handle the times perfectly and knows how to take you wherever he wants in an incredible way. Special mention to Prisma, the huge club of Seville, which is becoming something so important. If you have the opportunity to go there one night, you will understand.

What do you listen to lately?

So recently, I’ve been listening to the amazing EP by Vardae on Melifera Records. Vardae is starting to be one of my favorites artists. I always like to combine this type of music with other genres, such as ambient, classical or ethnic music. MMMD, for example, is one of my safe bets. Max Richter is at the top of my list of favorites too.

What inspires you?

I love reading books and watching movies; they inspire me a lot. Documentaries about native people, tribes, their way of thinking and understanding the world, intimately related with nature…and of course the nature! Walking between trees and listening to the Earth is my biggest inspiration.

What is the most inspiring set you’ve heard?

This changes depending on my mood. But it’s true that I can’t forget some specific sets: Rrose in the Boiler Room and in the Parallel Festival, Garçon and Donato Dozzy in the Parallel Festival are just examples.

What is the best festival experience you’ve had?

Definitely, Parallel Festival. Not only for the music but for the big crew we went together with. It was a fantastic opportunity to meet new people and listen for the first time to some artists.

Do you have a favorite book?

For me, it’s so difficult to put just one favorite (not only with books: movies, music, etc.), but I will never forget the feelings of reading the Lord Of The Rings with around 10. I discovered the Fantasy genre, which is still one of my favorites. On the other hand, the Lovecraft bibliography shocked me really hard in my adolescence.

How about a favorite movie or a show?

Difficult to choose just one…movies like the trilogy of LOTR, Pan’s Labyrinth, An Elephant Sitting Still…and series like Black Mirror, Years and Years or recently, Love, Death and Robots (yeah, I love dystopias)

At Agos HQ, we love food, hehe. What is your favorite dish?

Since I don’t eat meat, I love vegetables in all their forms, especially the wok style. I really like Asian food in general.

When you were growing up, what did you listen to? What were the artists that influenced you?

I discovered electronic music in primary school. It was a genre so popular in my country: Breakbeat. And actually, I started producing this music really young, but with such a bad quality. At the same time, I also discovered classical music…The Four Seasons by Vivaldi shocked me hard and still does today. And I remember my mom playing Buddhist music, chill out and things like this. I think that’s why I love ethnic music now.

This is a difficult question. What is your favorite album if you can choose one?

Yeah, really difficult! Right now I will say Memoryhouse, by Max Ritcher. Maybe if you ask me tomorrow I will say another one hahah.

There are many great labels on the scene. What are your favorites?

Almost every day I meet a new label, but I usually follow with special attention: Annulled, Oslated, Agos, Danza Nativa, Harmony Rec.

Tell us a bit about where you live. How’s life over there?

Seville is a nice place to live if you like the heat. Sun 360 days. People are open and friendly in general, but you know…there are also exceptions. We don’t have a big scene for electronic music but it is increasing slowly.

What is your favorite place to chill in your place?

My room!!

Any unique street food or dish in your place?

Salmorejo (a special cold tomato soup…delicious!)

Alex Caballero — Doctrina Natura

Let’s talk about gear!

What is your gear setup?

Old ESI nEar05, my laptop (MSI), my old Scarlett Focusrite and my new Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro (how could I not have them before!)

Which DAW do you use?

Ableton

What is your favorite plugin?

Serum, Wavetable and Analog for synths and Kontakt for pads.

Any upcoming producer that you like?

Halos. For me, talent is not just being good at doing something, but being humble enough to recognize that you are not good enough and always wanting to improve. And of course, there is no talent without a big heart behind it. For all that, Halos is not only my best friend but also one of the emerging artists that catch my attention the most.

Is there any production tip you want to share?

When you think you have finished the track, keep it saved for a while without listening to it again (one month, for example). Instead, listen to different music. Then, listen to it again later and you will see more objectively if it sounds good. Now, looking back, I am aware of a multitude of failures that my old tracks have and they all come from rushing. There is no point in being in a hurry.

What is your creative process? (How do you make a track)

I don’t usually start with a clear idea. I experiment with the plugins, maybe with a loop. Sometimes I have to close Ableton without anything, but most of the time I have something that I can use.

How do you break out of the loop and work towards finishing a track?

Let the music rest, don’t force it. Sometimes you can come back to an old project and discover that you can do something good now.

Are you a cat or a dog person?

Dog!!!! 100%

Describe the funniest person or event you saw at a festival

Me and my friend crying when Donato Dozzy finished his set at Parallel Festival. The funniest tears ever!!

--

--