The “I don’t have time to workout” fallacy

Thomas Benard
Agathos
Published in
3 min readJul 15, 2020

You said physical exercise was essential to persistent fat loss. But, I can’t workout, I don’t time for that!

Really? You don’t? Tell me, my friend, what do you mean by “I don’t have time”? Do you mean that your days don’t last 24 hours?

Well, no, of course that would be ridiculous. Instead, I mean that once I’m done with everything I have to in the day, there is not enough time left for me to workout…

So, you are saying that if I were to follow you for one day, I wouldn’t be able to find some free time?

Well… I guess so… I think I know where you are going. I guess I could stay away from the computer for 30 minutes and do a quick workout instead during the evening.

Oh! Is it really that simple? Why haven’t you done already then?

It’s just that… I’m so tired when I come back home after a day of work. I’m exhausted. I feel like I don’t have the energy for that. But you’re right, I should suck it up and…

Oh! Stop right there, my friend! Don’t put words in my mouth, I never said that! If you feel too tired in the evening, it’s probably a bad idea to schedule your workouts at this moment. Do you expect to always have the willpower to do this when you’re exhausted?

Well, to be honest, I know that I might stick with it for a couple of weeks, but after that… But now, I don’t understand what’s your point with all this. We are back to where we started, I don’t have the time to workout.

I do have a point! But it’s a bit too early to reveal it. What I’m trying to do here is to help you find a solution to your problem. For example, is there another time in the day when you could exercise instead of the evening?

No, I don’t think so. My lunch break isn’t long enough and I must leave early in the morning to drop the kids at school.

Maybe we could make more time then… I see your doubtful look. Let me explain: instead of trying to workout for 30 minutes in the evening, what about using this time to go to bed earlier and so, wake up earlier and use that time in the morning to exercise?

I’m not sure… It may work. I have to check with Linda and the kids. And I don’t know if I will be able to stick with it.

If so, we will need to find another solution. Now is the time to explain my point: you said you didn’t have time to workout. And yet, we managed to find a work around. You made an affirmation and because of that, your mind shut up to possible solutions. If you had asked “How can I find the time to workout?” instead, I don’t doubt you would have been able to find that by yourself.

Yes, I think I understand… But what if we don’t find anything that work in the end?

I wouldn’t worry too much about that. If you really want it, then we will find a solution.

Even still, what if?

Then, that would mean that physical exercise is not important enough to you right to make it a priority. And that’s ok too.

Do you have any question or remark? Don’t forget to write it in the comments so that I can answer you!

You can also clap this post if you’ve liked it or learned anything. And don’t forget to subscribe to the Agathos publication for more information about how to lose weight for the long term.

--

--